@rglover702: On the attribution of terms that you don’t understand.

I’m watching Marina Abramović talking
when she says

state of mind is everything.

I press pause
and I write

creating a state of mind
is a mental exercise.

I press play to continue.
Moments later Mum steps out.
I press pause,
and I go ‘ha!’

Mum looks at me as if to say
what?

Me: I’m watching Marina Abramović talking
about the difference between theatre and performance.
I’ve just taken a…
what do you call it?
Dictation!
A dictation of what she is saying,
so that I can see it.

She stumbles a bit when she gets to the part about what a performance is, and she laughs a bit, but I just want to read it to you without the stumbling bits.

Mum: Ok.

Me: “Theatre is very simple.
The knife is not the knife,
and the blood is ketchup.

In a thea… in a performance,
blood is real, and ketchup is blood,
and the ketchup is real blood”.

Don’t you think that’s just perfect, considering what she is stumbling over?

Mum: I’m missing what you’re seeing,
but if the stumbling was a mistake
then… yeah… yeah… um…
I’m missing what you’re seeing.
I’ve just got to go to the loo.
Sorry…

Me: No worries. That’s ok.

Ok. So with the time I have to myself, I get all the above written down and make a few minor edits. I’m happy to publish it now, but for some reason or other I feel like I should say something to justify it. So I rifle through my memory and the first thing that comes up is Richard Glover.

Let me explain
in terms I can understand.
http://www.facebook.com/officialwilanderson/posts/10150912184445382

Premise 1: The understanding of terms comes at the end of the performance.
Premise 2: The title must reflect the content.
Conclusion: “So as you see,
this is the enormous contradiction…”
that creates my life.

* Any implied or expressed similarity to my Mum is purely performative. That is my right as an artist.

About Brad

Braden Karl Frederiksen still has the small wooden treasure chest that his evil Grandmother gave him for his 8th Christmas. He can't recall how old he was when he locked the key inside nor how he locked it in there. He occasionally gives it a rattle and wonders what's making that other sound. View all posts by Brad

One response to “@rglover702: On the attribution of terms that you don’t understand.

Follow Instructions on Top Card

