dragon curve #6.1 on the vertical waterfall

Kathi!!!! “For higher order curves, append a 1 to the end, then append the string of preceding digits with its middle digit complemented” (Dragon Curve – from Wolfram Mathworld – Mozilla Firefox).

So it must be like you’ve just appended a 1 to the end. I didn’t immediately like the sound of what it followed I should follow through with, but then I noticed that it doesn’t say anything about the standing of the middle digit; just the position of it. So then I turned my thumb up and held it out in front of me at arms length – like an artist thumb perspective. Then I dropped my eye a little to look at my middle digit. There were a number of things I noticed.

1. The tip of my middle digit was touching my palm along with a string of digits around it.
2. Is there one preceding digit, or are there two? What happens to the correct answer if I stand on my head and do it?
3. How come the answer I get has something to do with vinyl and helmets? Does it have something more to do with the gloves, or something to do with my left eye going automatically closed when I held up my thumb in the afore/bovementioned fashion?
4. Why do The Simpsons have missing digits?
5. “By applying principles in theoretical physics to poetry, quantum poetics investigates how physical reality is assumed, imagined, and tested through language at discernible and indiscernible scales of spacetime (To be in any form, what is that?)”.
6.

About Brad

Braden Karl Frederiksen still has the small wooden treasure chest that his evil Grandmother gave him for his 8th Christmas. He can't recall how old he was when he locked the key inside nor how he locked it in there. He occasionally gives it a rattle and wonders what's making that other sound. View all posts by Brad

2 responses to “dragon curve #6.1 on the vertical waterfall

  • tipota

    i was actually looking for another post in ‘poems and poetics’ that i read some time ago, it was about the repetition thing, that piece of poetry reminded me of it, it has a kind of powerful impact if done well (which you did) i will look further couldnt find it, but found the thing about quantum poetics and thought that was right up your alley
    btw, found this one today
    …on writing as a response to the world

  • Brad

    That’s one of the things I love about this environment, Kathi – that I can respond to the things that most concern me about the world, and my world responds with affinitive things.

    “Imagine two trains, each going 60 mph one going North and the other one South”
    http://imagine.gsfc.nasa.gov/docs/ask_astro/answers/971109a.html

    Now imagine fifteen “uncoupled simple pendulums of monotonically increasing lengths danc[ing] together to produce visual traveling waves, standing waves, beating, and (seemingly) random motion” [with] “two trains on each going 60 mph” in 15 different directions.

    Where does the overall pattern of harmony come from?

    Case #7.5 of 15 – Given the reference frame, it must be the case of a satellite!

    See iteration 4 of ‘dragon curve: 7 of 9′ for more details.

    Thank you :)

Follow Instructions on Top Card

